Commencement Awards and Speakers

The names of the Student Speaker and individuals receiving awards will be announced prior to Commencement. The Student Speaker is selected by the Honors Council from those students who will be graduating and have submitted draft speeches for review.

Previous Commencement Speakers and Honorees

Student Speakers

Winter 2014 Michaela R. Bushey G '14, AuSable Forks, N.Y., M.S.Ed.
Spring 2014 Kym Taylor '14, Chazy, N.Y., B.A., Summa Cum Laude
Matthew G. McDonald '14, Red Hook, N.Y., B.S., Summa Cum Laude
Winter 2013 Danielle K. Johnson '13, Malone, N.Y., B.S., Cum Laude
Spring 2013 Emma M. Puglisi '13, Port Washington, N.Y., B.S., Magna Cum Laude
Winter 2012 Michelle B. Haynes '12, Keeseville, N.Y., B.A., Magna Cum Laude
Spring 2012 Cindy Arellano '12, Lima, Peru, B.S., Magna Cum Laude
Samantha N. Retrosi '12, Saranac Lake, N.Y., B.A., Cum Laude
Winter 2011 Su Eun Hong '11, Flushing, N.Y., B.S., Summa Cum Laude
Spring 2011 Christine M. Pawlowicz '11, Goshen, N.Y., B.S.Ed., Magna Cum Laude
Olapeju O. Oyeyemi '11, Portsmouth, Dominica, B.A., Cum Laude
Winter 2010 Frances L. Ercolano '10, Latham, N.Y., B.A., Summa Cum Laude
Brett T. Williams '10, Latham, N.Y., B.A., Magna Cum Laude
Spring 2010 Nicole M. Immerso '10, Island Park, N.Y., B.S., Cum Laude
Benjamin P. Pomerance '10, Plattsburgh, N.Y., B.A., Summa Cum Laude
Winter 2009 Kristy Lynn Curry '09, Plattsburgh, N.Y., B.S., Magna Cum Laude
Spring 2009 Kinnon Marie Bliss '09, Lake Placid, N.Y., B.S., Summa Cum Laude
Winter 2008 Angel Acosta '08, New York, N.Y., B.A., Summa Cum Laude
Spring 2008 Carrie Jean Douglas '08, AuSable Forks, N.Y., B.A., Magna Cum Laude
Winter 2007 Sheena Marie Garrant '07, South Glens Falls, B.S., Magna Cum Laude
Spring 2007 Megan A. Jensen '07, Plattsburgh, B.S., Summa Cum Laude
Winter 2006 RuthAnn Skowronek '06, Readington, N.J., B.A., Summa Cum Laude
Spring 2006 Jaclyne D. Demarse-Marcil '06, Plattsburgh, B.A., Summa Cum Laude
Jannel R. Gabriel '06, St. Lucia, B.S., Magna Cum Laude
Winter 2005 Hira Shafqat '05, Karachi Pakistan, B.S., Magna Cum Laude
Spring 2005 Marvelle C. Roberts '05, Dominica, B.A., Summa Cum Laude
Victoria L. Lu '05, Taipei, Taiwan, B.S., Cum Laude
Baier Rakowski '05, Riverhead, N.Y., B.S., Magna Cum Laude
Winter 2004 Esther Robinson '05, Commonwealth of Dominica, B.S.
Spring 2004 Ashley R. Gambino '04, Cortlandt Manor, N.Y., B.S., Summa Cum Laude
Winter 2003 Nazia Habib '03, Dhaka, Bangladesh, B.S., Magna Cum Laude
Spring 2003 James W. Leary III '03, Saratoga Springs, N.Y., B.S., Summa Cum Laude
Gerald Tan Yu Liang '03, Penang, Malaysia, B.A., Summa Cum Laude
SUNY Honorary Degree Recipients 

Spring 2014 Dr. Noriko Hasegawa, Watercolor Artist - Doctor of Fine Arts 
Spring 2011 Raphael Angel Suarez, Jr., Senior correspondent, PBS Newshour; Author  - Doctor of Humane Letters
George Hearn, Actor, Singer - Doctor of Fine Arts
Winter 2007 William "Bill" McKibben, Environmentalist, Author - Doctor of Humane Letters 
Spring 2006 Ronald B. Stafford, Former N.Y.S. Senator - Doctor of Laws (Posthumously)
Dr. John Grant III '82, Mars Exploration Rover Mission Scientist - Doctor of Science
Winter 2005 David H. Levy, Astronomer, Author - Doctor of Science
Spring 2004 Nancy Koningisor Kress '69, Author - Doctor of Humane Letters
Spring 2003 Jon Isherwood, Artist, Sculptor - Doctor of Fine Arts
Raghida Dergham '73, Senior Diplomatic Correspondent, Al-Hayat - Doctor of Letters
Distinguished Service Award

Winter 2014 Christopher H. Booth, Plattsburgh, N.Y. - Battle of Plattsburgh Commemoration Committee, Co-Chair (Retired)
Sara Booth, Plattsburgh, N.Y. -- Battle of Plattsburgh Commemoration Committee, Member (Retired)
Spring 2014 Dr. Patricia J. Higgins, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, SUNY Distinguished Service Professor of Anthropology  (Retired)
Spring 2013 Cheryl Hogle '68 G'72, Pensacola, Fla. - Associate Dean of Students (Retired)
William D. Laundry, Plattsburgh, N.Y. -- Vice President for Student Affairs (Retired)
Spring 2012 Kathy A. MaGaw '72, Kinnelon, N.J. -- Senior Vice President, Chase Manhattan Bank (Retired)
Spring 2011 Dr. David "Doc" Mowry, Plattsburgh, N.Y.- University Distinguished Teaching Professor/Honors Program Director
Dr. Richard Semmler '68, Annadale, VA -- Associate Professor of Mathematics, Northern Virginia Community College
Spring 2010 Edward R. Brohel, Plattsburgh, N.Y. -- Director, Plattsburgh State Art Museum (Retired)
Spring 2009 Dr. Celine Racine Paquette ’60, SUNY Trustee Emeritus
Roderic G. Giltz, Chair, Northern Insuring Agency
Spring 2008 Dr. Robert E. Golden, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs (Retired)
Spring 2007 Trent L. Trahan '70, Chazy, N.Y.
Dr. Douglas Skopp, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor of History/College Historian
Spring 2006 Arnold A. Amell '53, Scotia, N.Y.
Spring 2005 C. Thomas "Chip" Cummings '56, Putnam Station, N.Y.
Spring 2004 Robert Garrow '52 G'59, Morrisonville, N.Y.
John Clark, Mountain Lakes, N.J.
Spring 2003 John C. Egan, Slingersland, N.Y.


Contact Information

For more information about Spring Commencement at SUNY Plattsburgh, please contact:

Office of the President
159 Hawkins Hall
(518) 564-2010 (phone)
(518) 564-3932 (fax)