Holiday Information for SUNY Plattsburgh Professional & Classified Employees

2014 Calendar of Legal Holidays for State Employees

The following holidays have been designated by the State of New York for all employees except academic year faculty. Reduced staffing in most administrative support areas can be expected. Please plan ahead.

Date Holiday
Wednesday, January 1 New Year's Day
Monday, January 20 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Wednesday, February 12 Lincoln's Birthday (Floating)
Monday, February 17 Washington's Birthday (Observed)
Monday, May 26 Memorial Day
Friday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 1
Labor Day
Monday, October 13 Columbus Day
Tuesday, November 4
Election Day (Floating)
Tuesday, November 11 Veteran's Day
Thursday, November 27 Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, December 25 Christmas Day

2014/2015 Holiday and Liberal Leave Schedule

2014

Date Holiday
Monday, September 1
Labor Day
Monday, October 13 Columbus Day
Tuesday, October 14 Liberal Leave
Tuesday, November 4
Election Day (Floating)
Tuesday, November 11 Veteran's Day
Wednesday, November 26 Liberal Leave
Thursday, November 27 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 28 Liberal Leave
Wednesday, December 24 Liberal Leave
Thursday, December 25 Christmas Day
Friday, December 26 Liberal Leave
Monday, December 29 Liberal Leave
Tuesday, December 30 Liberal Leave
Wednesday, December 31 Liberal Leave

2015

Date Holiday
Thursday, January 1 New Year's Day
Friday, January 2 Liberal Leave
Monday, January 19
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Thursday, February 12 Lincoln's Birthday (Floating)
Monday, February 16 Washington's Birthday (Observed)
Friday, May 22 Liberal Leave
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day
Friday, July 3 Liberal Leave
*Saturday, July 4 Independence Day

 

  • Floating Holiday – offices are open
  • Liberal Leave – core office hours are not required, appropriate leave credits are charged
  • UUP Professionals observe November 28, 2014 as a floating holiday in lieu of the observance of Election Day, November 4, 2014, in accordance with Article XIII, Title D of the Policies of the Board of Trustees. 
  • Normal core office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. During the following periods, the core hours are revised to 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. with a half hour lunch.
    • December 15 – January 23
    • March 16 – March 20
    • May 18 – August 14
  • *Note: A holiday which falls on a Saturday shall not be observed as a holiday for the purpose of granting time off with pay or for leave for working on a holiday.  This will be a holiday earned on July 4, therefore cannot be charged for liberal leave on July 3.

 

Contact Information

Human Resource Services

Address: 101 Broad Street, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-2681
Campus Location: Kehoe 912
Phone: (518) 564-5062
Fax: (518) 564-5060
Email: hr.apply@plattsburgh.edu

Office Hours:

Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 4:30 pm